× Select a Wish List
Add to wish list:
Add to Wish List
× Add to cart
gibberish barbaric speak gibberish barbaric speak gibberish barbaric speak

    Hello, Universe

    # 210000050575
    $8.99 Buy Now

    Winner of the Newbery Medal

    “A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.”—Washington Post

    Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

    Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—Booklist

    In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.

    They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms.

    The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

    “Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.”—School Library Journal

    Availability
    • Currently In Stock
    Add To Wishlist
    Gift Wrap Options
    Gift Wrapping Options
    Safety Information
    None
    Product Specifications
    • Brand: HarperCollins Publishers.
    • Item Number: 210000050575.
    • Manufacturer Number: 9780062414168.
    • EAN: 006241416X.
    • ISBN: 9780062414168.
    • Recommended for ages : 7 to 11.
    • Measures approximately: 0.98 x 5.12 x 7.62 inches..
    • Weighs approximately: 0.72 pounds.
    -Shipping Estimate
    Local Pickup at Kiddlestix Toy Store: **Call when you pull up for curbside service**$0.00
    Local Delivery to Midtown, Jenks (w/ $100 purchase): Within 5 miles of the store $0.00
    Local Delivery to B.A. (w/ $100 purchase): Broken Arrow$5.00
    Local Delivery to Bixby (w/ $100 purchase): Bixby$10.00
    Local Delivery to Owasso (w/ $100 purchase): Owasso$15.00